Chapter 26 What Will You Say to Your Future Self?

What kind of plan took two lifetimes to carry out?

A chisel had been used to engrave the words that had been densely written on that gold board stroke by stroke.

First of all, the person who left these things behind wasn’t certain that he would be reincarnated at all and even had doubts about the concept of a next life. As a result, he actually had more sophisticated and effective alternative methods to ensure that his plan was completed.

This gift package for his future self was just a joke. But this person was proficient in arithmancy, so when he saw this result, he decided to make some preparations.

This whole matter came about because he experienced quite the adventure during the current dynasty and ended up learning a method as a result of it.

His original intention, in modern terms, was that if you had an enemy powerful enough to be stronger than a country, then you needed enough time to win the final victory.

And this kind of time was often much longer than a single lifetime.

It was extremely difficult for human beings to do things when they couldn’t see the results. For example, if you needed several hundred years to complete something, you’d finally be able to see the results after a few thousand years.

But there were countless possibilities that might crop up during those centuries that could ruin your plans. Under such circumstances, you’d have to rely on humans’ unchanging qualities as the cornerstone of all your plans.

And the one quality that human beings had that would never change with the passage of time was their voracious greed.

This person had that kind of an enemy, who would take a very long time to defeat. So, he came up with a plan to fight against this enemy by taking advantage of human greed. When this gold board was discovered, maybe his plan would have already succeeded or maybe it was still progressing.

But now that Xia Wen was here, it would take just one simple thing to tell you which step the plan was currently at.

This thing was to spread a message to the world.

And that message was about the world’s second most valuable tomb.

If there was no response to this message being spread, then it meant that the world’s second most valuable tomb had already appeared and his plan had been completely successful.

If the world’s second most valuable tomb hadn’t appeared, then his plan was still in progress.

Jin Wantang knew my story, so when he heard this, he felt his blood run cold. This was because in my story, it was all over.

Xia Wen was obviously implying that he was Wang Zanghai’s future self.

The world’s second most valuable tomb had not appeared in my story, but according to Xia Wen, if this was the case, then it meant that Wang Zanghai’s plan had not come to fruition and things were still ongoing.

When it comes to such an extremely complicated conspiracy, such a situation often means that the previous logic may have been completely wrong.

The logic in the past may have just been superficial while the real logic was still incessantly going on in secret.

I was so astonished when I heard this that the fear had me breaking out in a cold sweat.

But my reasoning for why this matter had been concluded wasn’t some impetuous superficial thing that I had glossed over. I had spent more than ten years working on it and had even exhausted my brain trying to come up with a solution. In fact, I was so rigorous that I even reviewed everything I had done not that long ago and firmly believed that I had won completely. This was because at the end of that difficult and remarkable decade, there was a short period of time when I had gained the advantage. Once that happened, I didn’t leave any possibility for them to make a comeback.

So, the only way I would believe it was if I was told that the battlefield I was facing wasn’t a frontal battlefield but just a part of countless skirmishes. If I didn’t even see all the mysteries, then I really couldn’t perceive all of Wang Zanghai’s magnificent work.

But even so, I had won all the battles on my battlefield and wasn’t going to fight any others. I didn’t have the time or ability to face a struggle of that level again.

I also didn’t believe that there would be more complicated conspiracies like that, so I just ignored those two or three sentences from Jin Wantang that tried to overthrow my past.

I had experienced the real world, so at this stage, my experiences couldn’t be overthrown just like that.

But there was just one problem during this whole incident that I was never able to solve—whether my Uncle Three was alive or dead. If he had died, then this whole affair should be closed. But if he didn’t die, then what exactly was he doing? This was a problem that had secretly plagued my heart for years.

Did he have a reason for not reuniting with me?

Jin Wantang wasn’t a fool either. After listening to Xia Wen’s words, he immediately realized that this story about a past life had to be a pretext, since it was too fantastical and lacked details. This person must have used this story as a pretext for laying the groundwork for his clever scheme. What he really wanted to talk about was the world’s second most valuable tomb.

But this man dared to say that Wang Zanghai’s plan wasn’t finished, which wasn’t something that ordinary people would dare say.

So what did this Qi Yu want to do? Why did Uncle Three start training me to act like Qi Yu after he made that deduction about Xisha? Who did Uncle Three want to lie to? Did he want them to think that Qi Yu wasn’t dead? Why did Qi Yu suddenly appear again and tell Jin Wantang about the world’s second most valuable tomb?

After their talk, Jin Wantang couldn’t help himself and sent the news of Qi Yu’s appearance directly to Xiao Hua. Then, he asked Xia Wen directly in person, “Do you know a person named Qi Yu? You two have a very similar posture.”

Instead of acting surprised, Xia Wen just said, “Ah, I know him. There’s a reason we have the same posture. In fact, he’s not a real person, just like me.”

When Xia Wen said this, he glanced at Jin Wantang with a coy look in his eyes. As Jin Wantang broke out in a cold sweat, he suddenly felt that this Xia Wen was strange and abnormal. If he wasn’t a real person, then what was he?

<Chapter 25><Table of Contents><Chapter 27>

6 thoughts on “Chapter 26 What Will You Say to Your Future Self?

  1. So who is the big boss. Who brought wang, zhang and mystic nine on the battle field again, and want to enjoy 😊 the result whoever wins🏆💪. I think the story getting more mysterious and interesting.

    Like

  2. Omg I *screamed* when I read the bit about Wang Zanghai and it being his plan playing out for centuries!! Will Wu Xie ever be free of him?!

    Like

  3. If this tomb was built by Wang Zanghai, so trampling the Qilin by that statue also show his enmity with Zhang family. And the death of so many of Zhang family members show it’s not just a matter of forgetting and probably their life is in danger too. (but they need them in the process)

    Like

Leave a comment