Chapter 101

I thought of Warehouse Eleven and looked around, but didn’t see Bai Haotian anywhere. I didn’t know how this little girl had saved us both considering we couldn’t do anything at the time. But Bai Haotian didn’t seem to be here anymore. Uncle Two interrupted my thoughts, “Thirty-five hundred a month.”

“Wait, the interns get paid more than that,” I argued with him.

Uncle Two ignored me, but Fatty winked at me, “You’re old and unemployed, so it’s especially suitable for you to look after the warehouse. Anyway, it’s not like you’ve got anything else to do. Take some night shifts and get overtime pay.”

I looked at Fatty’s expression and noticed that he seemed to have some special purpose in mind, so I stopped nagging and said to Uncle Two, “Give me gas allowance. My car goes through a lot of gas.” Uncle Two glanced at Er Jing, who was standing off to the side. Er Jing took out a computer and pressed a few buttons. After doing a few calculations, he said to me, “Little Master Three, you report your monthly gas expenses to me. There’s no precedent for gas allowance here.”

I heaved a long sigh and looked at Fatty, “Where’s the condom? Give it back to my Uncle Two. Otherwise, I’ll lose the goods before I even start working. Uncle Two will definitely take it out of my salary.”

“It depends on whether the owner wants to hold you accountable,” Er Jing said as he looked at Poker-Face.

I breathed a sigh of relief. Thank God, the owner of this thing is Poker-Face. If he wanted to talk about owing money, then the two of us had a lot to discuss.

Kan Jian called me over, so I grabbed my takeout box and went outside. I saw that the leather figurine woman had become something like plastic film the color of oil paper. When I asked why it had been left on the street, Kan Jian said, “It’s to dry it out so it can be taken back and studied.”

I squatted down and poked it with my chopsticks. There were several big holes in the leather figurine woman, which should have been the cuts Bai Haotian had made. “Don’t worry, it’s dead,” Kan Jian whispered to me.

“How do you know it’s dead? When it suddenly came alive, there weren’t any signs at all,” I said. I didn’t know why this thing had behaved around me. It played dead when I repeatedly tossed it around, but came alive as soon as Ha Zong touched it.

“Ha Zong had a cut on his hand,” Kan Jian said. “Blood was smeared on the human skin, so it must have come alive after smelling the blood. But I don’t know why his hands had such deep cuts. It looked like they came from fingernails.”

I frowned and then immediately sighed, “He tends to throw the tiles too much when playing mahjong. I figure he scratched himself on the mahjong table when he threw the tiles.”

Kan Jian looked at me, “Boss, didn’t you tell me before that people are lying when they reveal too many details?”

I slapped him on the back of the neck, “You traitor. You still have the nerve to accuse me of being a liar? My Uncle Two completely won you and Wang Meng over because he pays you a lot of money. You guys are so embarrassing.”

Kan Jian looked back at where Uncle Two was eating, “I signed my labor contract with Wushanju. We must abide by the law.”

“Oh ho, this thankless wretch has learned a few things.” I was furious and turned to look at Baishe, who wouldn’t look me in the eye at all.

After a few mouthfuls of rice, I went back to the room and said to Uncle Two, “I’ll go to work tomorrow. Uncle Two, do you have anything else you want to tell me? If not, I’ll head out first.” I looked at Fatty and Poker-Face, “Where are you guys staying?”

“Where do you live?” Fatty asked. “We’ll find a place near you. You’re making thirty-five hundred now, so we have to adapt to the changes.”

I motioned for them to follow me, but Uncle Two suddenly said, “Don’t go yet. There are some things you need know.” Uncle Two picked up the phone and called someone, “Where are you? The sooner you get here, the sooner we can finish things.”

I didn’t know who it was, but after exchanging a few words with the other party, Uncle Two handed me the phone. When I put it to my ear, I heard Xiao Hua’s voice, “Please stay. I’ll be there in five minutes. I found something I think you should know about.”

My heart clenched, thinking that it was something to do with Uncle Three. Then I immediately felt guilty. Uncle Two still wanted me to participate even though I had made him look bad.

Xiao Hua kept talking, “I know there are a lot of people there, so I’ll tell you the big thing first. After everyone leaves, I have a private matter to discuss with you. Remember to make up some excuse so we can go out together later.”

I listened and wondered what he had to say, “What’s this private matter related to? Don’t leave me hanging. Give me at least a little something. Otherwise, I can’t stand it.”

“It’s related to Black Glasses,” Xiao Hua said.

<Chapter 100><Table of Contents><Chapter 102>

3 thoughts on “Chapter 101

  1. “I breathed a sigh of relief. Thank God, the owner of this thing is Poker-Face. If he wanted to talk about owing money, then the two of us had a lot to discuss.”

    1. why, how that thing has an owner and wtf how can that person be xiao ge
    2. wu xie is 100% right lolollolololololol i’m sure xiao ge never paid rent or even his cell phone, did he ever have any money

    Like

Leave a comment