Chapter 2.31 Fantasy (Extra)

Zhang Xiaoshe was sitting in a tree. The trees here towered over everything, and the fog barrier lay just beneath their branches, making it seem like they were sitting in the giant trees that stretched above the clouds at the Southern Heavenly Gate.

He didn’t know what branches Pampered Guy and Poker-Face were on, but they had already dressed and were sleeping. Because of the fog, he couldn’t even see three or four meters in front of him.

All the snakes on Zhang Xiaoshe’s body were coiled around him, absorbing the day’s heat from him. They were a little restless, so Zhang Xiaoshe fed them some of the bugs they had hunted, which he had mixed with some dried meat.

The good thing about raising snakes was that they only needed to be fed once a week.

After feeding, the snakes dispersed one after another. If they wanted to eat more, they would have to work hard by themselves. Since he had joined their group, he gave Pampered Guy and Poker-Face some of the medicinal liquor to drink every day, so that there wouldn’t be any accidental bites.

Less than a week after entering the forest, he already knew that they were walking towards the Meihe River. At that time, the Americans were going to set up a dam, but were killed by the Yi villagers. Now that I thought about it, what Pampered Guy didn’t say was that there was probably something underwater.

Zhang Xiaoshe took out a bronze mirror and used a match to illuminate his eyebrows. He could see a tiny black snake underneath the skin of his eyebrow, which had its tail connected to one of his veins.

He sighed, blew out the match, wrapped himself in his clothes, and slowly fell asleep in the moisture. The surrounding snakes slowly spread out and coiled around the tree branches.

When the sun absorbed the fog and completely dispersed it, I turned to see where Poker-Face was, but saw the sunset coming in through the side window.

It was over.

I stared blankly for a moment before I realized what had happened. I was back in the small power station.

My hands and feet slowly revived, and the severe pain in my nasal cavity started flaring up. There was a taste of blood in my throat, and it felt as if it was lodged there.

There was always a very sad feeling in my heart every time I came back, and I would have to sit there in silence for a moment.

The fantasy couldn’t be too beautiful, because it would fade away in the end. You think you’ve captured it, but there was nothing there. This kind of memory was no different from my real memories. People couldn’t really have anything.

It was a familiar feeling. After curling up, I closed my eyes and waited for the next round of intense pain to hit.

I emptied my mind, and gritted my teeth.

I won’t describe this feeling. Let’s just say I started yelling and screaming at the pain emitting from my body and head.

At about six in the evening, I stood up for the first time and took a few sips of Sprite.

The sugar started to make up for the damage to my body. I needed it so much that I felt extremely happy drinking it, and ended up guzzling two small bottles in a row before I slowly woke up.

I took out a voice recorder and recorded two names: Zhang Xiaoshe and Little Brother Zhang. This was a clue, so I would definitely find out more about what happened to them later.

I told myself that it had only been a day, and I couldn’t stop. I forced myself to stand up, wiped my bloody face and neck with a wet towel I had prepared before, packed my things, and then slowly walked out of the small building.

As I overlooked Hangzhou, the city lights on the other side of the West Lake and the spotlights on the embankment were still the same, although the lake surface was no longer visible.

I can’t stop and feel, I told myself again.

The mountain road was dark, so I put on my headphones and played soothing music as I walked slowly down the mountain.

“Brother, go forward boldly.” There were drunken mountaineers singing in the grass, which was worse than ghosts.

“I’m going.” I looked at the stars in the sky and inhaled the lake wind.

~~~~2014 New Year’s Eve Fantasy End~~~~

<Extra 2.30> <Table of Contents><2015 Chinese New Year Special Extra Chapter 3.0>

******

My darlings!!! Even though this was kind of a downer (Wu Xie in pain, and that reference to Panzi (╥_╥) ), I have wonderful news! If you didn’t already know, Restart Season 2 is aired! And 8 episodes if you’ve got the VIP access. It’s still on iQIYi. And this chapter right here is the end of this New Years Special. Just 1 more special to go and we’ll be on “Ten Years Later”!!! Woohoo!

Tiffany’s new extras:

14 thoughts on “Chapter 2.31 Fantasy (Extra)

  1. An entire coherent story out of Author Three? Truly it must be a fantasy! XD He did do his usual magic of making me care about bit characters despite myself, so that was fun. I love that Pampered Guy was all “I like you, I shall make you part of the family!” to Snake Ancestor. That was either an adoption or a marriage, huh. Xiao-ge has been putting up with this kind of nonsense for decades, apparently. . .

    Aww, man, Wu Xie, you poor idiot. He keeps looking for second-hand happiness and glimpses of his Poker-face, no matter what the cost is. I am really looking forward to seeing the ten-years-later story!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The eyebrow snakes! I had forgotten about them! That explains everything! Glad the author included that bit before the story ended. Now I’m thinking this guy is from Gu Tong Jing! |

    YES! I JUST finished Season 1 last night and was lamenting what I consider a sever lack of Iron Triangle goodness. They had a lot of great scenes in that first arc, and again at the Mute Village, but they’ve been separated for 10 YEARS!!! They need more scenes together!

    Thank you so much for translating this story Merebear! Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmm I’d say it’s a little before Tomb of the Sea maybe? 🤔 Like, you still need to read Tomb of the Sea before reading this, but I’m pretty sure it takes place before Wu Xie decides to kidnap Li Cu (but definitely after Tibetan Sea Flower) lol

      Like

      1. Thank you for the reply. ☺

        I’ve watched Tomb of the Sea drama but haven’t read the novel yet. Not sure if there’s a big difference 😊

        Like

        1. You’re welcome 😊

          There are some pretty big differences, but a lot is still the same. At least all the stupid Mystic Nine background stuff in the drama isn’t in the novel (unless you’re into that, then sorry to disappoint 😂)

          Like

  3. i was so impatient that i read ten years later before this one and the other special hahaha
    i’m back reading everything in order now, even if i’m rotting for Chongqi it’s still nice to see WU XIE SUFFERING DURING A WHOLE BOOK lol ;D

    Like

  4. Thank you Merebear for the translation.. and for your good decision to translate special story’ too
    And poor junkie Wu Xie.. i kind of understand his empty feeling after waking up and embedded other people experience as his own.. its almost like what i feel from this chapter too

    Like

  5. I can imagine what Wu Xie felt too well. I was so into this story and characters. I just wanna go back and live through that memory for a little longer. 😭

    Like

  6. Wu Xie really missed Pan Zi and Xiao Ge. The story was good. But Wu Xie’s state makes me sad. It’s a pity that we don’t have a chance to know what is happening to those two, Little Brother Zhang and Zhang Xiaoshe, but probably it’s a blessing for Wu Xie that he don’t know how they died.

    Like

Leave a comment