Chapter 5.13 Fish Gall (Extra)

When we set off the next morning, I was both calm and tense. My body had been completely relaxed over the past six months, but this environment made me instinctively start to mobilize my nerves and want to be active again.

As we walked, Fatty flipped through the photographs he had taken of the fish last night on his phone, and kept squinting. The fish had been turned into a fillet, so this was the only evidence of its existence now. I didn’t know why Fatty kept looking at it.

“Are you unhappy that you didn’t get to eat the fish head, or are you sick enough to get off on a fish?” I asked him.

“You don’t know shit. You have to learn to find the clues in the details.” Fatty said. “Mr. Naïve, you don’t know anything about production. It’s a wonder that you, a young master living in the city, can even distinguish pigs from sheep.”

In Fatty’s eyes, I may always be a young master. I leaned over and watched him enlarge the picture and look at the fish’s wound.

“What’s the matter?” I hooked my arm around his shoulder. “Don’t play dumb. Now, now. Tell me right now. Come on.”

“You can see for yourself. Where’s the bite?”

I looked at the wound and said to myself, I’m not familiar with the physiological structure of fish. How am I supposed to know where it is? I looked at it carefully and noticed that it was lower down on the stomach. I gulped and asked, “Was its dick bitten off?”

“When have you ever seen fish grow dicks? Has your family eaten fish dicks before?” Fatty retorted. “This is a very special part on carp. If you’ve engaged in fish production, you would know that carp have two treasures: carp stone and carp gall. The carp gall is highly toxic and can be used as medicine. But you can die if you eat too much of it.”

“Where did you learn this useless bit of information?” I asked while looking at the carp’s wound in the picture. “You mean to say that this was where the carp’s gallbladder was?”

Fatty nodded, so I continued my line of questioning, “So it’s no accident that this part of the fish was bitten? Then what can carp gall be used for?”

Fatty was silent and then snorted. “I didn’t catch it, so how would I know? Ask the old man, he must know.”

Lei Benchang had been walking in front of us and staring straight ahead the whole time. I knew he wasn’t thinking about anything in particular, but he wasn’t wandering around aimlessly. He knew exactly where he was going. At this time, nothing between heaven and earth could bother him except for me. I went up and asked him Fatty’s question.

Lei Benchang glanced at the picture on the phone and frowned. “Hmmm, that is a bit interesting.” The old man then told me that carp gall was important for getting rid of inflammation and improving one’s eyesight. But if you ate too much, it could cause vomiting and diarrhea. In the worst cases, it could easily cause paralysis and shock, or even death. When I returned to Fatty and told him what Lei Benchang had said, Fatty responded with, “Let’s assume for the time being that this bite was meant to target that specific area, and that the old man’s strange fish loves eating fish gall.”

We couldn’t verify it at this time and could only really rely on our imaginations, but for some reason, I kept thinking that what Fatty said could be possible. Why did I have this intuition? I wasn’t really sure. I just always felt that there was some basis even though I didn’t know where it connected to.

We soon arrived at the spring.

The old man was very familiar with it, so he had a convenient route for us to take. Although there wasn’t a path, he knew exactly where to place his feet on the loose gravel. When we finally reached the deep pool, we could tell at a glance that it was unusual.

The pool was located beneath a small sinkhole. The rocky crevices around the sinkhole were full of banyan trees, which were so densely packed together that the roots covered the walls. The entwined branches looked like a lot of giant hands that were stretching above the sinkhole to cover it completely, only letting some mottled rays of sunlight shine through. Countless aerial roots hung down past the branches and dipped into the pool of water below.

The whole sinkhole was the size of two basketball courts, and the pool of water was very large. I looked down and saw that the water was a blackish blue, which made it obvious that it was very deep. Countless birds were startled by our approach and hurriedly flew out of the hole.

“It’s kind of interesting.” Fatty said. “Little Brother, if it was summer, we’d definitely have a good swim.”

Poker-Face didn’t speak, but looked at the surrounding rocks. I already knew that this was the quarry we had been looking for before. The banyan trees had sprouted in the stone crevices and grew into trees that were so big, four or five people would have to join hands to wrap around them. From this alone, we could infer that the stone quarry here was at least a few hundred years old.

Poker-Face turned his head slightly. I was more familiar with some of his habits now, and knew that he was looking at the distance between the rocks. He suddenly ran two steps forward and jumped up, stepping on a protruding crack on the rock wall before turning and jumping again. He continued stepping and jumping up without stopping at all until he reached the top of the nearest banyan tree and grabbed it with one hand.

His movements were almost inhuman, but Fatty and I were used to it. Just like setting off a bottle rocket through the air, we didn’t bother looking at him. We passed by the stunned Lei Benchang and started slowly helping each other climb up.

“Be careful with your back.” Fatty said as he helped me jump onto the rock Poker-Face had jumped on before. I turned and pulled him up, then hugged a tree branch while Fatty slowly pushed me up.

<Extra 5.12> <Table of Contents><Extra 5.14>

****

Fish dicks, I’m officially dead ヽ(>∀<)ノ. These two seriously kill me lol. How has Poker-face not run away yet?

7 thoughts on “Chapter 5.13 Fish Gall (Extra)

  1. There has never been a duo like Fatty and Wu Xie. They are for sure the most rare and interesting people (things) he’s ever come across in his life. How could he leave them, they’d probably just find him and make him save them again. 😂 (Though they’ve certainly saved him too at times) ☺️

    Liked by 5 people

  2. “Watch your back”… they might kill me before the end. These two don’t need any fanfiction to be the cutest duo ever!
    The old man left stunned cracked me up so much! Wi Xie was sooo getting some little revenge over the sneaky jiji! ^^

    Poker-face better NOT run away as usual. I’d be very upset if he did and would scold him bad. For someone who lived for so long, he ought to grow up, seriously, and stop making us worry and WuXie fret (Fatty’s faith in Poker-face showing up always at the last minute to save Wu Xie is another of these right in the guts feelings).

    Speaking of guts… could a grave-robber submarine have “bitten” off the fish? Or is the behemoth fish down there a pet of the Zhang family, guarding some other underwater creepy tomb-village?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Poker face : *do inhuman manuver
    Wu Xie and fatty : no can’t do, his age is old, but our body is older *proceed to do double grandpa climbing

    These three really crack me good 😂
    And fatty is worried about Wu Xie poor back even tho he is older is gold

    Liked by 2 people

  4. If Xiao Ge run away, the one who will be the most pissed and offended would be Wu Xie. Wu Xie’s tired of Xiao Ge appearing and then disappearing the next second for more than 10 years 😂

    Like

Leave a comment