Chapter 60 Fear the Face of Reincarnation

I understood what Xiao Hua meant. At that moment, I finally understood everything. But I still couldn’t believe it.

He had prepared a human skin mask for me that looked like my Uncle Three. He didn’t want to show me the art of Yi Rong, he wanted me to wear it.

I suddenly admired him a whole lot more. He was thousands of miles away but still knew the situation here and could make the most accurate decision. He knew that no matter how hard I tried to find old connections, the whole thing couldn’t be undone. Uncle Three’s power in Changsha had completely collapsed and turned into numerous small interest groups that nobody could command.

The only way was for Uncle Three to come back.

But he couldn’t come back, so what now?

We would create an Uncle Three.

But for some unknown reason, I suddenly felt a chill spread from the soles of my feet as I looked at this human skin mask.

I started to tremble, but I didn’t know whether it was because of fear, panic, excitement, or some other emotion. In fact, there were countless emotions in my body competing against each other at this moment, and numerous scenes were flashing through my mind. Some were of my Uncle Three, some were what I imagined would happen when I faced everyone after becoming Uncle Three, and some were when I was alone. At the same time, Poker-face and Fatty’s faces kept popping up.

Fortunately, it was just for a moment. As my palms began to sweat, I immediately calmed down and started to think about the problem. After a few seconds, I understood my choice.

There was no other choice.

“How do you wear this?” I asked the girl.

“If you’re willing to wear it, I’ll help you put it on. The whole process takes four hours and can last for four weeks. Have you thought it over?”

It was enough as long as I could rescue them. “Is it realistic?”

“After I help you put it on, you can judge for yourself.” With that said, she pointed to a nearby reclining chair, indicating that I should lie down.

I did as she asked, and she immediately put the human skin mask on my face. At that moment, my ears suddenly rang with Uncle Three’s words:

“Some masks can’t be taken off if they’re worn too long.”

(To be continued)

<Chapter 59> <Table of Contents><Vol. 8 Chapter 1>

****

TN Note: Awwwwwwww yeah boi!!! Another volume down! I feel like there was a LOT more discussion than action in this book which made it harder to translate, so sorry if the errors were horrendous. Needless to say, fight scenes are way more fun/easy to translate (and read) lol. If anybody is actually reading this, thanks for sticking with me so far!

Now on to Volume 8…

****

Updated 12/2/2020

18 thoughts on “Chapter 60 Fear the Face of Reincarnation

  1. Thanks so much your hard work! (yeah it’s me again, I kinda got distracted with other things for a while, but now I’m back and catching up with these) Seriously, you’re awesome 🙂 this ending was really something I didn’t see coming, and I’m dying to get to part where he finds Fatty and Xiao Ge again

    Like

      1. Not at all, I really enjoy being able to discuss/gush over this series with someone 🤣 I’m halfway through volume 8 now, confused as fuck, horrified over the whole miluotuo business, and very anxious over the state that they’ll find Xiao Ge in 😱 (you’ll probably hear from me again in some later chapter HAHAHA-)

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you so much for putting in all this hard work! Thank you so much for continuing the dmbj translations where the print books left off! I appreciate these translations you’ve done so much. ❤

    Like

  3. Read all the English language books after watching The Lost Tomb Reboot this summer, and I just wanted to say thank you so much for doing these translations! I couldn’t believe when the English versions just stopped on a cliffhanger, I’m so happy to be able to keep reading!

    Like

  4. “Some masks can’t be taken off if they’re worn too long.” this hurts so bad. Wu Xie’s one of many sufferings.

    Thank you so much for the translation~~~ Moving to Volume 8 whoooo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. To this point I can’t forget about oxygen tanks under water. Qiu De Kao still couldn’t effort another equipment?😂😂
    Thank you very much for translating this vol as well. 💖💖💖

    Like

  6. Thank you for the translations. I understand less fighting mean more work for you but I find it more enjoyable. Seeing the characters, talk or think they way through solutions.

    Like

  7. Thank you so much for this! I finished watching Ultimate Note today and was confused by the last episodes, so I went here to read your translation. That helped! And now I am so grateful tobe able to read what happened to Pangzi and Xiaoge in book 8!

    Like

  8. it’s amazing you translated and posted so much text. i actually got into daomu biji kind of backwards (I saw a cool anime figure) and when I was researching what it was, I came across your site here. I bought the english books since it seemed “safe” to get into this series, and not be left totally hanging. or I hope. I guess I’ll find out later if there’s literally any answers to any of the mysteries;;; either way I’m glad I met so many characters. I don’t ever plan to watch the dramas, not really my thing. thanks for posting the books that never made it in english.

    Like

Leave a comment